THE TOWN OF NORTH HEMPSTEAD Proclamation

WHEREAS, the Town of North Hempstead is home to many native wildlife species that all contribute to a healthy environment. It recognizes that human health ultimately depends on well-functioning ecosystems and that regions with biodiversity can better support healthy soil, water and air quality, food production, and can foster beneficial connections between humans and wildlife; and

WHEREAS, the Town of North Hempstead is working to build a healthy, sustainable and wildlife-friendly environment that brings the many benefits of nature to all corners of our community. Pollinators play a vital role in maintaining a healthy ecosystem. Native plant species, wildlife, and urban agriculture all depend on pollination from animals like bees, butterflies, moths, flies, wasps, beetles, and hummingbirds; and

WHEREAS, many pollinator species are in decline mainly due to habitat loss and the use of pesticides, like the monarch butterfly which has been declared endangered by the International Union for Conservation of Nature; and

WHEREAS, National Pollinator Week is an annual celebration in support of pollinator health with the main goal of raising awareness for pollinator conservation. It offers opportunities to individuals and communities to help restore native habitat and support local pollinator species. The Town of North Hempstead will continue to support local, state, and national efforts that protect, restore, and conserve habitat for pollinators, as well as foster a greater connection between residents and wildlife. Now therefore, be it:

PROCLAIMED, that June 19-25, 2023, be declared a week of special recognition throughout the Town of North Hempstead for Pollinator Week. The Town of North Hempstead encourages all residents to participate in community activities that support and celebrate pollinator protection.

Jennifer DeSena Supervisor

ennie f. Walch

Dennis J. Walsh Council Member, District 3

1

Mariann Dalimonte Council Member, District 6

Robert J. Troiano

ouncil Member. District 1

Ronica durve Veronica Lurvey

Council Member, District 4

Regens Seivastana

Ragini Srivastava Town Clerk

Peter Zuckerman Council Member, District 2

David A. Adhami Council Member, District 5

Kurlu/BIAMAN

Charles Berman Receiver of Taxes