Home > News
North Hempstead Rejuvenates Arts Advisory Council with New Members

September 21, 2015
MEDIA CONTACTS: Carole Trottere, Ryan Mulholland, Sam Marksheid, and Rebecca Cheng | (516) 869-7794

North Hempstead Rejuvenates Arts Advisory Council with New Members

North Hempstead, NY – North Hempstead Town Supervisor Judi Bosworth and the Town Board are proud to welcome new members to the Town’s Arts Advisory Council, bringing the total membership to 15. The Town Board approved the new appointees on August 25th.

The Arts Advisory Council held its first meeting on September 16th and will meet regularly to explore the possibility of obtaining grants, to advise the Town Board about the acquisition of art, to provide coordination for the creation of art or art space within the Town, and to generate publicity for, and interest in, the arts in the Town of North Hempstead.

“I am thrilled to welcome new members of the committee as we work together to create a greater audience for art, especially among our young people,” Supervisor Bosworth said. “We look forward to training a new generation of arts leaders and teachers.”

The North Hempstead Arts Advisory Council, which was founded in 2008, is currently led by the Chair, Regina Gil who was appointed in 2013. Gil is also the founder and Executive Director of the Gold Coast Arts Center in Great Neck.

The increase in committee members and anticipated meetings are due to a concentrated push from Supervisor Bosworth and Executive Director of the Town’s BTDC Kim Kaiman, to keep the arts a priority in North Hempstead.

Committee members are:
Alexandra Ainatchi, Great Neck
Anita Ferguson, Westbury
Damon Gersh, Port Washington
Regina Gil, Great Neck
Cyrus Hakakian, Roslyn
Anne-Marie Hudley Simmons, Westbury
Jill Rader Levine, Searingtown
Sharon Maier-Kennelly, Port Washington
Steve Markowitz, Great Neck
Laura Mogul, Port Washington
Alex Nunez, Westbury
Heather Schwartz, Roslyn Heights
Ilene Silberstein, Port Washington
Caroline Sorokoff, Great Neck
Francisco Villagran, Port Washington

If you have any questions regarding the Town’s Arts Advisory Council, please call 311.

Have you tuned into North Hempstead TV lately? View all of our great programming on Channels 18 or 63 on Cablevision or Channel 46 on Verizon, or visit www.myNHTV.com or www.youtube.com/townofnorthhempstead.

Back row, Town BTDC Executive Director Kim Kaiman, Jill Rader Levine, Cyrus Hakakian, Town Clerk Wayne Wink, Anita Johnson, Councilwoman Anna Kaplan, Councilman Peter Zuckerman, Alex Nunez, Alexandra Ainatchi, Francisco Villagran ,Town BTDC Deputy Director Roy Smitheimer;

Front row, Sharon Maier-Kennelly, Ilene Silberstein, Supervisor Bosworth, Regina Gil, Councilwoman Dina De Giorgio, Ann-Marie Hudley-Simmons, Councilwoman Lee Seeman.

View Archives