Home > News
Town Honors Local Siemens Competition Semifinalists at Town Hall

December 23, 2015
MEDIA CONTACTS: Carole Trottere, Ryan Mulholland, Sam Marksheid, and Rebecca Cheng | (516) 869-7794

Town Honors Local Siemens Competition Semifinalists at Town Hall

North Hempstead, NY – North Hempstead Town Supervisor Judi Bosworth welcomed the semifinalists of this year’s Siemens Competition in Math, Science and Technology to Town Hall on Tuesday, December 15. The Siemens Competition in Math, Science & Technology was established by The Siemens Foundation in 1999, and is one of the nation’s premiere science research competitions for high school students.

“We are so proud that 25 of the 460 semifinalists call the Town of North Hempstead home,” said Supervisor Bosworth. “What an amazing accomplishment! This once again reminds us of the quality of our schools in North Hempstead, and the amazing administrators, educators and students that we have.”

There were 25 recipients from North Hempstead schools who were honored, including two finalists, Kimberly Te and Christine Yoo from Manhasset High School who won the $100,000 grand prize. Their project created microbial fuel cells designed to clean up oil spills or to provide power to developing countries by speeding up the breakdown of sediment and other matter.

This year’s semifinalists were: (Those with an asterisk did not attend)

• August Chen, Great Neck North HS
• Graelin Mandel, Great Neck North HS
• Annabelle Ng, Great Neck South HS
• Robin Shum, Great Neck South HS
• Jaysen Zhang, Great Neck South HS
• Michael Shen, Great Neck South HS
• Sunny Shi, Great Neck South HS
• Yujia Su, Great Neck South HS
• Gianna Chan, Herricks HS
• Naeha Pathak, Herricks HS
• Ayesha Chhugani, Herricks HS*
• Nihar Shah, Herricks HS
• Brian Zhao, Herricks HS*
• Bongseok Jung, Herricks HS
• Natalie Tan, Herricks HS
• Jordan Chee, Herricks HS*
• Kimberly Te, Manhasset HS (grand prize winner)
• Christine Yoo, Manhasset HS (grand prize winner)
• Markella Tsalikis, Manhasset HS
• George Theodosopoulos, Manhasset HS*
• Raymond Huffman, Manhasset HS
• Kevin Sadhu, Manhasset HS
• Jun Yan He, Manhasset HS*
• Michael Lee, Manhasset HS
• Andrew Zuckerman, The Wheatley School

Town officials with Siemens semifinalists and local school officials.

View Archives