Home > News
Town Receives Second Grant to Install Radar-Activated Speed Signs

 August 30, 2016
MEDIA CONTACTS: Carole Trottere, Rebecca Cheng, Sam Marksheid, and Vicki DiStefano | (516) 869-7794

Town Receives Second Grant to Install Radar-Activated Speed Signs

Program is designed to get more homes and businesses to install solar and lower energy costs

North Hempstead, NY – North Hempstead Town Supervisor Judi Bosworth and the Town Board, along with New York State Senator Jack Martins, are proud to announce that the Town will be purchasing approximately two dozen radar-activated speed signs with a $65,000 grant from the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services. The grant was obtained with the assistance of Senator Martins and will continue the program the Town started last year, with the previous purchase of 29 speed signs and two trailers for $100,000.

“It is wonderful that we are able to equip even more areas in our Town with these speed signs to help remind drivers to slow down and to obey the speed limit. We hope these new radar activated speed signs will encourage drivers to practice safe driving habits,” said Supervisor Bosworth.

The grant money will allow the Town to purchase 20 speed radar signs. The electronic signs will display how fast a driver is traveling and what the speed on the road is, making the driver aware if they are exceeding the speed limit. Supervisor Bosworth and the Town’s Department of Highways and Public Safety along with Senator Martins are working to identify locations in the Town and incorporated villages where the signs would be the most useful.

“I am pleased to have secured state funding to support this important public safety initiative. Speeding endangers lives in every community. These signs achieve a single, important purpose; encouraging drivers to slow down. Expanding this program by putting more of these signs on the streets will save lives and help reduce speeding throughout the Town of North Hempstead,” said Senator Martins.

With the past grant, East Hills, East Williston, Flower Hill, Great Neck, Great Neck Plaza, Lake Success, Manorhaven, Mineola, New Hyde Park, Port Washington North, Roslyn, Roslyn Harbor, Saddle Rock, Westbury and Williston Park, received speed signs.

For more information on this program, please call 311 or 516-869-6311.

Serving over 222,000 people, the Town of North Hempstead’s governing body is headed by the Town Supervisor, Judi Bosworth and six Town Board members: Viviana L. Russell, Peter J. Zuckerman, Angelo P. Ferrara, Anna M. Kaplan, Lee R. Seeman and Dina M. De Giorgio. The Town Clerk is Wayne Wink and the Receiver of Taxes is Charles Berman.

Have you tuned into North Hempstead TV lately? View all of our great programming on Channels 18 or 63 on Cablevision or Channel 46 on Verizon, or visit www.myNHTV.com or www.youtube.com/townofnorthhempstead.

Village of Saddle Rock Deputy Mayor Manny Alani, Village of Manorhaven Trustee Priscilla von Roeschlaub, Council Member Dina De Giorgio, Council Member Viviana Russell, Town Clerk Wayne Wink, Village of Williston Park Mayor Paul Ehrbar, Town Supervisor Judi Bosworth, State Senator Jack Martins, Village of East Hills Mayor Michael Koblenz, Council Member Peter Zuckerman, Village of Port Washington North Mayor Bob Weitzner, Village of Great Neck Plaza Mayor Jean Celender, Lake Success Police Department Chief of Police Joseph Gardella, Lake Success Police Department Lieutenant Mark Staniszewski and Village of Flower Hill Mayor Elaine Phillips with the radar-activated speed signs that were purchased with the previous grant.


View Archives