Home > News
North Hempstead and Roslyn Landmark Society Unveil Historical Marker

 February 20, 2019
MEDIA CONTACTS: Carole Trottere, Rebecca Cheng, Vicki DiStefano and Matt Leonenko | (516) 869-7794

North Hempstead and Roslyn Landmark Society Unveil Historical Marker

North Hempstead, NY – Supervisor Judi Bosworth, Council Member Veronica Lurvey and Town Clerk Wayne Wink along with the Roslyn Landmark Society unveiled a new historical marker for the Roslyn Grist Mill on Wednesday, February 13.

“The Roslyn Grist Mill is such an important part of the rich history that belongs to the Town of North Hempstead and to the Village of Roslyn. The unveiling of this new historical maker will help future generations learn about the significant role the Roslyn Grist Mill played in the development of our local community,” said Supervisor Judi Bosworth.

Built between 1715 and 1741, the building operated for over 150 years as a grist mill and is one of the last surviving examples of Dutch timber-frame construction in the country. From 1920 to 1974, the building served as a tea house attracting tourists to the village. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.

Howard Kroplick, Town Historian and President of the Roslyn Landmark Society, said, “The installation of the historical marker highlights the long-awaited restoration of the Roslyn Grist Mill. It was exciting to see town residents and officials from New York State, Nassau County, the Town of North Hempstead, the Village of Roslyn, Nassau County and New York State, celebrate one of Long Island’s historic treasures.”

The marker was funded by the William G. Pomeroy Foundation, following a grant application by Town Historian Howard Kroplick last year.

The restoration project is currently in its initial phase which includes safely staging the work site, stabilizing the structure, raising the building to street level and placing it on a new foundation. Once restored, the building will provide historic and educational opportunities for the public. A total of $1.95 million for the restoration has been raised by the Roslyn Landmark Society from trusts, foundations, government grant and individual contributions.

Also in attendance were: Nassau County Executive Laura Curran, Nassau County Legislator Delia DeRiggi-Whitton, Nassau County Legislator Richard Nicolello and Roslyn Mayor John Durkin.

(Left to Right) Catherine Chester (Roslyn Landmark Society Trustee), Anne Tinder (Roslyn Landmark Society former Executive Director), Council Member Veronica Lurvey, Town Clerk Wayne Wink, Town Historian and Roslyn Landmark Society Board President Howard Kroplick, Nassau County Executive Laura Curran, North Hempstead Supervisor Judi Bosworth, Nassau County Legislator Delia DeRiggi-Whitton, Roslyn Mayor John Durkin, Nassau County Legislator Richard Nicolello, and Jay Corn (Roslyn Landmark Society Trustee).


View Archives