Home > News
North Hempstead Celebrates Honorees at the 2022 May W. Newburger Women’s Roll of Honor

MEDIA CONTACTS: Gordon Tepper, Rebecca Cheng and Michael Anderson | (516) 869-7794
                                   Brian Devine | (516) 869-2475

North Hempstead Celebrates Honorees at the 2022 May W. Newburger Women’s Roll of Honor 

North Hempstead, NY – – North Hempstead Town Supervisor Jennifer DeSena and Town Clerk Ragini Srivastava were proud to recognize the honorees for the Annual May W. Newburger Women’s Roll of Honor. The gathering was held to celebrate the achievements of this year’s extraordinary women.

Event chairperson Ragini Srivastava said, “I am proud we could continue the long-standing tradition of the Town of North Hempstead to recognize the achievements of extraordinary women and to thank them on behalf of a grateful community.”

“It was an honor to induct this year’s class to the Women’s Roll of Honor. The Town is so proud to celebrate these exceptional women who have helped make our communities a better place,” said Supervisor DeSena.

The breakfast began the Nassau County Police Department Color Guard presenting the colors and Nassau County Police Inspector Leslie Mould Olsen leading the Pledge of Allegiance. Soprano Christine Birke, Director of the Herricks High School Chamber Ensemble, delivered a beautiful rendition of our National Anthem.

Generous sponsors Flushing Bank, Americana Manhasset, Castagna Realty, and the Castagna Family helped make the event possible.

Since 1994, North Hempstead has held the Women’s Roll of Honor to honor women who have contributed to their community or have accomplished a significant achievement through public or private efforts. The Women’s Roll of Honor is named after the late May W. Newburger who served as North Hempstead Supervisor from 1994 to 2003.

Stay tuned for video footage from the event which will premiere on NHTV channel 18 or 65 on Cablevision and channel 46 on Verizon FIOS and on the Town’s YouTube page: www.youtube.com/townofnorthhempstead. The schedule can be found on www.mynhtv.com

The 2022 Honorees
Moriah Adamo, Roslyn Heights
Janice Chew, Great Neck
Dr. Judith B. Esterquest, Manhasset
Prabha Golia, Manhasset
Marylou Grady, Albertson
Dnise Heckelman, Mineola
Arezou Hariri Tolou, Kings Point
Diane Venezia Livingston, Port Washington
Carmen Lloyd, Westbury
Dr. Tess Ma, Roslyn Heights
Maryann McDermott, Williston Park
Dr. Subhadra Nori, Old Westbury
Dr. Cynthia Orellana, Westbury
Maria ‘Cina’ Agostinho Palumbo, Mineola
Moji Pourmoradi, Great Neck
Lily Soo, New Hyde Park
Nazarie Williams, Westbury
Desiree Woodson, Manhasset


View Archives