Home > News
North Hempstead Honors Winners of 2010 Earth Day T-Shirt Design Contest

For Immediate Release Media              Contact: Collin Nash or Sid Nathan
April 30, 2010                                                                  (516) 869 7794

North Hempstead Honors Winners of 2010 Earth Day T-Shirt Design Contest

North Hempstead, NY—Supervisor Jon Kaiman and North Hempstead Town Board honored hundreds of secondary school students from across North Hempstead for their participation in the Town’s 2010 Earth Day T-Shirt Contest, Tuesday, April 20, 2010.

“I would like to take a moment to thank all the teachers and parents here tonight,” Supervisor Kaiman said. “Without your hard work, dedication and commitment, this program would not be experiencing the remarkable success and growth it now enjoys.”

Hundreds of student contestants submitted designs during the weeks leading up to Earth Day.

“Tonight we are honoring the very best,” Supervisor Kaiman said, announcing the names of the six winning designs:

Honorable Mentions, Emily Giunta from the Wheatley School; Isaias Cruz from Westbury High School; Anne Werner from Roslyn Middle School; Runners-up Jill Mullane from Mineola High School; and Michelle Ammann from Herricks High School and Grand Prize winner Olivia Chan from New Hyde Park Memorial High School.

Chan, 15, said the environment itself served as inspiration for her winning entry.

“I wanted draw something that was artistic yet symbolic of elements in the environment, such as plants, flowers, and water,” she said. “I am proud that my entry actually won because it’s for a cause that I believe in,” she said. Chan, a New York State swim champion, noted that she assumes the role of the recycling police at home and in school.

Her design will be silkscreened onto thousands of T-Shirts which will be given out to residents all over the Town who are participating in activities to help green the environment.

Caption: (R to L) TONH Receiver Charles Berman, Councilwoman Viviana L. Russell, Councilman Angelo P. Ferrara, Supervisor Jon Kaiman, Councilman Fred Pollack, Councilwoman Lee Seeman, Councilwoman Maria-Christina Poons,
honor participants of the 2010 Earth Day T-shirt Contest.
View Archives